Other Obsessions: Edward Gorey, Anita Blake

So another of my newer obsessions is Edward Gorey, macabre author of The Gashlycrumb Tinies among many other books, and brilliant American illustrator: see Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats, by T. S. Eliot. I just love his drawings and his verse.

In all my searching, I also found music to accompany his writings: The Gorey End.

So with my lovely gothic illustrations and childrens’ verse, I am just exploring my inner Morticia. I was afraid of the few Goths I knew in high school. So now I can pretend.

Just deepening my foray into the darker side of life, I have accidentally stumbled into the Anitaverse: the Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter books by Laurell K. Hamilton. I plan to devour all ten this summer and then cry and hope I can find something else to read.

Really, I shall only pray to retain the ability to read and comprehend complex literature when this is all over with. I hope Laurell Hamilton doesn’t disappoint the way Jane Auel, Anne Rice, Patricia Cornwell, and the granddaddy of Deus ex Machina: Michael Criton. I love prolific writers, I love not having to leave a world at the end of a book. I just get so disappointed when the stories get so repetitive and/or predictable. I miss Anne Rice, though, and may try and go back…but she distracts me with the erotica…She tricks me. You can’t just hold all that hot supernatural sex out there and then withhold it later… well, she can, they are her stories…but Anne Rice tricks me with the sex. I get so I want to read more, but it isn’t because the story has me so enraptured…It is like putting subliminal messages in movies! No. It is more like putting toys in cereal boxes. Those children don’t want to eat the cereal, they just want the darn toys.

I digress, though.

It has taken too long to write this so I will post it after editing not enough…

~ by merialiss on May 26, 2004.

Leave a Reply

 
