Ramblings

Last week we painted swords and now Elijah is desperately counting down the days until the Renaissance Festival. I told him yesterday about the SCA and now I wonder if we could just go and hang out. I have peripheral associations with SCA people, especially via the unschoolers I almost know. I just wish that I could get up off of my…um….bed….and do these things. Lately it seems like I am always sleeping when I should be awake and awake when I should be sleeping.
I have spent a lot of time in the last 2 weeks in introspection.

I’ve been investigating Thich Nhat Hanh, The Law of Attraction, and Mindfulness. I am reminded of so many things…the Seat of the Soul, the Celestine Prophecy…and then there is the treatment of coincidences within those.

Like, I looked up Thich Nhat Hanh like 3 weeks ago–no precisely three weeks ago. Someone on one of the lists had written something that caught my eye and so I decided to look for his books in my local library. I was captivated by a quote and wrote a blurb about happiness and suffering.

That night I showed up at a 12-step recovery meeting that I frequent rarely (haha–how’s that for an oxymoron?) and a person shared about something Thich Nhat Hanh had said on a radio program that the person had been listening to on the way to the meeting.

Well, first of all I was astounded that of all the nights that I was not listening to Speaking of Faith on the way to the meeting that this was the night that they replayed the “Brother Thay” episode with Thich Nhat Hanh! (that I had looked at earlier in the day on Audible.com). And then add to that the fact that not only had one person been listening to the program, but so had another (that means that I know 2 people IRL to whom I am not related that listen to Public Radio!!). It was delightful and delightfully coincidental. And although I am supposed to say that I “don’t believe in coincidences,” and dot the “i’s” with hearts and flowers….I have to say that in all sincerity, I believe in coincidences whole-heartedly: I believe that they happen and I also believe that I can assign all sorts of meaning to such. See, I am not all utterly evil, really.

OK, well then the next week I walked into a meeting and there on the white board, abandoned from a Sunday school lesson or the like, loomed the words:

LOA:
Love One Another

Law of Attraction

How is that for nifty?!

I guess I didn’t write much about the law of attraction. I read something…oh yeah, this guy‘s blog–and he’s probably a nutcase, but I like the information he gathers–about this law of attraction–well, that was after I read about it on the Daily Groove. It can be just another instance of the power of positive thinking, or it could have metaphysical merit; either way it does help when used. I guess it has been called creative visualization, faking it ’til you make it. Regardless, it has been on my mind lately, since the first of the year and it continues to pop up all over–a self fulfilling sort of thing.

Well, I’ve had tons of these coincidences and yet still I am sleeping and reading and missing my life.

Why is it that I have such a lust for life and yet an equally opposite desire to avoid it? Double edged sword, that is. One of my unconscious resolutions is to be here now, be here more, to pay attention. I want to schedule my time so that I can be in this moment and then the next one completely. Perhaps I need to return to list making. I’ll let you know…

~ by merialiss on January 26, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
