Joy: Rejecting a Pre-Packaged Life

Joy: Rejecting a Pre-Packaged Life

Try joy. Try the idea that it might be enJOYable to cook, to set the table,
to see your family, rather than the idea that you’ll be happy after dinner’s
done and cleaned up. My guess is that such happiness might last a couple of
seconds before you look around and see something else between you and happiness.
Joy, though, can be ongoing, and can be felt before, during and after the
meeting of goals.

That Sandra! She’s out there writing things just for me! How nice of her.

I still feel overwhelmed by the idea that I could and should feel joy while I do things around the house but I also want to be utterly available for the children.

In the past I have shut out the distrations when needed. Mostly the kids as they are usually the only living beings around. Other distractions are usually just more attractive pass-times like reading or TV but I have tried to limit those things because I shut out the kids whilst doing those things, too.

If I don’t get into a state of uber-zen I end up with this “What do you want now?” attitude, especially if I am trying to accomplish something like a clean kitchen in a reasonable amount of time.

Does not transition well. That’d be me.

I need to do my work and let go. If I get pulled away from the kitchen mid-glass, it is just a little bit more “done” than if I hadn’t bothered to do that much in the first place.

I feel the weight of the entire world on me here at times and it wears me down but the consequences of taking on that responsibility include feeling really proud of me and feeling like I am being and doing the way I was meant to. Living a meaningful, satisfying life can be very HARD work.

But not too long ago I was sorrowful internally because my life was neither.

~ by merialiss on June 9, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
