Election Thoughts

I think I had better record my thoughts somewhere while they are fresh.

I spent the afternoon talking giddily first to one dear, like-minded friend and then another. Waiting to go vote with the old man.

He and I spent the evening before watching MSNBC and CNN’s coverage of “election eve” and someone, I recall, even made a joke about putting out “macaroni salad and Tums” for Sen. McCain 🙂 It really did feel like Christmas!

So I can’t believe it’s over. I really can’t believe this is true. We have a Democrat as president elect and he’s also, remarkably, African American. *And* he’s not just any old Dem–but one I adored from the git-go. I voted for Hilary in the primary because I was genuinely torn and because I had to take the opportunity to cast my vote for a woman as President (and again, not just any woman, but one I respect and like). But Obama? Just 4 years ago I was praying he’d run…but not yet. I thought it was too son, I thought American wasn’t ready for a black President. But that hardly matters when he’s so well qualified (and it doesn’t hurt that the competition was so underqualified and their campaign was so petty).

I am just delighted. I was so surprised and completely impressed to hear Obama speak about “a new spirit of patriotism; of service and responsibility where each of us resolves to pitch in and work harder and look after not only ourselves, but each other.” Yes, let it be our civic duty to love our neighbors as ourselves. I tell you, durn Religious Right: That‘s what Jesus would do!!

And then to have him acknowledge yet another of my most deeply held beliefs: “tonight we proved once more that the true strength of our nation comes not from our the might of our arms or the scale of our wealth, but from the enduring power of our ideals: democracy, liberty, opportunity, and unyielding hope.”

Ideals have value? Yay! Finally! *whew*

It doesn’t quite feel corny yet, so I’ll end with it:
“Yes, we can!”

~ by merialiss on November 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
