Sweet Relief

How comforting it is to have a nice hormonal explanation for my earlier down-drearies?!(I know it’s TMI but I was expecting the old moon-time around mid-November and yet I know my body well enough to know that it wasn’t happening then…but I did expect it about 2 weeks after that and had just gotten to that hopeless place of believing I would never see it again…)

I know most of my counterparts, most other contemporary women, that is, hate menstruating with a capital H. So much so that they are willing to take pills to stop it, or slow it down.

Luckily, I’ve steeped myself in enough feminist mysticism and rhetoric that I do not hate my period. And having spent the bulk of my most fertile years missing my period–ovulating like every 3 months or so, I tend to welcome my monthly friend.

I will not hate my body. I will not hate my body’s desire to reproduce. It’s not dirty or shameful. It’s just natural and unavoidable. At times, it’s even beautiful.

I love the cyclic nature of it, the round dance of it. I see ritual in it and usually ride the ups and downs with gratitude.

Granted, I really don’t like cramps, but oh well. I can take the good with the bad.

I really could not imagine my life without this cycle.

And while I would like to rationalize away the phenomenon of PMS, I know I am more emotional right before my period, that it is always darkest before the dawn (half of the worst of it, having an irregular cycle is the frantic wondering if “What if I’m Not about to start?!”).  It makes sense that I would be more vulnerable, seeking comfort. My body wants to make sure I breed successfully next time around 🙂 So I accept that. I just wonder why it is so much worse for some people, though I do have theories on that, too.

So, after seeking solace amongst the books and sipping gratefully on my Godiva hot cocoa, here I am 2 days later with a fresh start, renewed energy–a new lease on life! How do men just slog along day after day without this cycle of renewal?

~ by merialiss on December 4, 2008.

One Response to “Sweet Relief”

  1. […] links to posts I like. Like this one about perspective. And this one that’s TMI but that I was wanting to recall lately (get back to that place I was […]

Leave a Reply

 
